Best way to optimize a primary sequencer?

Octaviu5
Octaviu5 Member Posts: 47 Member

Hello.

Im currently at a very early stage of development of a new idea for a sequencer.

Attached to this post is a brief ensemble of a single structure that im developing.

It works as i expect it. However, im gonna need lots and lots of the same structure.

And when i replicate the macro multiple times the cpu usage can go to up to 30% Which is really undesirable.

My question is. which of the primary modules that im employing would be the most cpu demanding? Can you think of a simple way to optimize the thing?

Also, if i was to do this in core... would that give me a noticeable difference?

And if i was to do it... what would be a good starting point? i've never used core before so the thought of jumping into it for this sequencer is daunting, but would do so if it is going to pay in big cpu savings.

Thank you in advance.

You guys are awesome. This community has been very helpful.

I really appreciate all of you fine folks who take time to reply. For now im the annoying guy who has questions all the time, but please know that i really appreciate all of your help.

Comments

• colB
    colB Member Posts: 762 Guru

In general you shouldn't need to optimise a sequencer - it shouldn't be doing much most of the time. Each time it gets (or generates) a clock tick, it does some processing, but that happens at most a few times a second.

e.g. midi clock is 24 ticks per quarter note, so at 120bpm, that's 48 ticks per second

At 48KHz, an audio process is doing its thing 48000 times a second - it makes sense to do some optimisation in that context.

In this example, the audio process has to run 1000 times for every 1 time the sequencer process would run... not a whole lot of need for optimisation in the sequencer, assuming it works in a reasonably sensible way ;)

• errorsmith
    errorsmith Member Posts: 25 Helper