M1 Rant

spurn
spurn Member Posts: 3 Member
edited August 2022 in Komplete General

I'm sure this thread will be closed quickly, but I have to vent about the completely inexcusable lack of M1 compatibility with NI products. I'm a professional Film/TV composer, highly invested in the NI platform (which I think is great, obviously), and it is LUDICROUS that there is no compatibility with Apple Silicon almost TWO YEARS after its release, when EVERY other software I use is now M1 compatible. I recently purchased an M1 Pro laptop and an Apple Studio with M1 Ultra, but running NI stuff through Logic on Rosetta is a crash/bug fest and obviates the entire reason for buying Apple's new, faster machines. I know that NI has been teetering at the point of bankruptcy for a while now, and it's not surprising given their total inability to keep up with the changes in Apple hardware. It's a shame, because as we all know, they make so many great products, but I am systematically switching to other companies' software give NI's total inability to keep up.

Tagged:

Comments

• Kubrak
    Kubrak Member Posts: 2,772 Expert

If it does not work under Rosetta 2, blame Apple, not NI. It is Apple fault that their SW does not work as advertised....

Beside that, Kontakt is AS native for few months... That is what professionals use the most....

If you move to platform, that is not supported by SW you use, it is your fault, not the fault of SW provider, that it does not work instantly.

NI is slower than others, but two, three years is just normal for adoption of new platform. It looks like NI AS native compatibility will come in 2-3 months.... And it is not that far behind iZotope, for example...

• Maciej Repetowski
    Maciej Repetowski Member Posts: 389 Pro
    edited August 2022

iZotope presented detailed roadmap and announced which plugins will not be made M1 native. They do respect their customers and don't keep them guessing.