Creative ways to use hotcues?

Options
13»

Comments

• oghersi
    oghersi Member Posts: 8 Member
    Options

Interesting topic. As a beginner, I'm sometimes at a loss as to how to properly use them. At this moment, I use them mainly to identify the exact drop points (I find the waveform is not always the best guide). I only use 1 for grid and the rest as regular cues and loop cues. I always have one or two loop cues I can either use as a background groove I can copy into a remix deck or simply as a default outro I can leave while mixing in another track.

I also wish one could color-code them. I think If there were memory points available on Traktor I might find a more creative use of cue points.

• djisang
    djisang Member Posts: 8 Member
    Options

I mainly use hotcues to shorten extended versions of songs. Depending on the crowd, they may or may not be interested into listening to the whole song, so if they’re not, I automatically jump to a later section to “shorten” it

• roweg
    roweg Member Posts: 1 Newcomer
    Options

I don’t allow software to automatically select hot cues for me. Instead I use them to mark mix in and mix out points, verse, chorus, bridge, breakdowns etc. Any part of a track that might be interesting to jump to is marked with a cue point.

• Kayya
    Kayya Member Posts: 195 Advisor
    Options

There is someone more meticulous among us than me. It takes a lot of time to try so much. I didn't get into this because I was scared and waited for it to be automatic one day :)

• Thales de Paula
    Thales de Paula Member Posts: 83 Helper
    Options

I use it to cut a few minutes from some tracks. famous jump.

This came from 2011, today the songs are shorter by default.

• George Espinosa
    George Espinosa Member Posts: 16 Member
    Options

This is how I set my hot cues:

Cue 1-4 are standard in all my songs.

Cue 1 = Beat grid (auto by Traktor analysis)

Cue 2 = Load (if diff from Cue 1)