delay with clearable buffer

Options
thomas grey
thomas grey Member Posts: 13 Member

Hello,

I'm writing this message because I need to build a delay Macro that would work exactly like the "Single Delay" Primary Module when used for audio echo (with High Quality Interpolation), but with the ability to clear the buffer at any time.

I've tried to figure out several Ensembles with such capability, built in Reaktor Core, that I've found in the User Library (for example, "Quake Pong" and "Shpongler" by Z Gabr), but afer several attempts it seems there is far too much going on in these devices so that I can find my way and keep only what I'm looking for.

One more piece of information: I've spent quite a bit of time building in Primary, but I'm fairly new to Core...

I would greatly appreciate it if someone could help me a little in my endeavor.

Regards,

Thom

Comments

• colB
    colB Member Posts: 830 Guru
    Options

The factory core delay modules have this functionality built in. Just sent an event on the SR.Reset bus to the delay module and it will reset it's buffer. Primary does not have this feature. But you can wrap a core delay in a cell and add a tiny bit of logic for the reset input. Should be easy enough.

I did write a detailed explanation of how the different versions of the factory buffer reset work. But that's lost in the old forum, so you would have to search it on archive.org. good luck with that ;)

• colB
    Options

here are two (untested) versions. both are core cells. One is just a basic delay, so no feedback etc., so you would handle that externally in Primary. The other uses the more fully featured delay FX from the library.

In both, the reset is handled by feeding any event at the reset input into the reset channel on the SR bus. You could attach e.g. a trigger mode button to this.

• colB
    Options

Here's the same thing in stereo with some curves on the mix levels so centre isn't quieter.