Refurbed Maschine mk2 won't fire up (controller, specifically; no problems with software)

elevensbest
elevensbest Member Posts: 5 Newcomer

Hello Kind-Hearted Soul,

Though I've used ProTools for years, I am new to Maschine. When I plug the controller into my quite old MacBook Pro (operating with High Sierra 10.13.6 using an Intel 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo) and going to the "Controller" heading in the software, all of my options are greyed out and the hardware will only display the screensavers--no functionality.

I am not the most tech-savvy person on the planet and my efforts--checking compatibility, updating drivers, updating software and you name--it hasn't helped at all.

I am eager to start creating and any suggestions are GREATLY appreciated!!!

Tim, Portland, OR, USA

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,194 Expert
    edited April 2023

Do you mean it shows the Maschine Logo on the left screen and “Start Maschine software” on the right one even when the Maschine software is open?

• LostInFoundation
    edited April 2023

If this is the case, it means the hardware did fire up, but it’s not communicating with the software.

How did you plug it in the computer? Through an usb Hub?

First thing I would test is to plug it in directly into an usb port ON the computer.

• elevensbest

Dear LostInFoundation,

Really appreciate your reply.

Not quite. The screens read (L to R): “Maschine” and “Groove Production Studio.”

Cable is plugged directly into laptop’s usb.

Tim

• NativeAmerican
    NativeAmerican Member Posts: 43 Member
    edited April 2023