Would this setup work? Technics SL 1210, Pioneer CDJ-350 and Allen & Heath Xone:42

Nick Blanc
Nick Blanc Member Posts: 12 Member

I haven't DJ'ed for a long time (10+ years) and want to keep the dust off my equipment. So here's my old setup:

2x Technics SL 1210

2x Pioneer CDJ-350

1x Allen & Heath Xone:42

I want to combine my old vinyl and MP3/CD collection with Traktor DJ Pro and timecode (vinyl or CD or both, not sure yet). I have a Focusrite interface to connect it all. I want to add a Kontrol X1 for hands-on control of Traktor. But I'm a noob with timecode. How can I load a timecode CD/vinyls in my CDJ's/SL's and make it work with my computer? And can I?

Tagged:

Comments

• PK The DJ
    PK The DJ Member Posts: 994 Guru

a Focusrite interface

Which one?

• PK The DJ
    edited August 2022

I guess you could use the CDJs to play timecode CDs, as the output is line level and would feed into the Focusrite.

Dedicated vinyl timecode interfaces (standalone or internal to certain mixers) have RIAA phono level inputs, which your Focusrite doesn't have. The Xone has turntable inputs, but no way to send those individually to the computer.

• Nick Blanc

You see, here is where my noob aspect comes into play. Where would that leave the Xone? I have the outputs of the Xone connected to the FC and still want to use that mixer. Not the cdj's directly into the FC. Or am I not understanding you?

Sorry I'm still a bit baffled by this.

• boredatwork
    boredatwork Member Posts: 12 Member
    edited August 2022

Long post warning, I hope it helps.

I think you need to think clearly about what it is you want to acheive.

1: Do you want to use CD350s with time control CDs to control traktor based audio (mp3s/wavs)

2: Do you want to use your TTs with time control vinyl to control traktor based audio

3: Do you want to use your CDS and / or TTs to play actual (audio) cds/vinyl.