Feature Request: Keyboard Shortcuts for Ratings

Options
christauff
christauff Member Posts: 6 Member
edited February 27 in Mapping Traktor

Either assignable or pre-assigned, is it possible to get a Keyboard Shortcuts for Star Ratings (0-5)?

I know this question has been asked in the past, but I've been on Traktor a LONG time, and given the fact that I spend hours a week sorting through tracks, ratings are literally the first thing I do to sort what to keep and what to delete, and then, what to play. I used to be able to do this in Mp3Tag, but no longer. It's painful to sort in advance when I live in my S4 MK3 for nearly everything else, then import tracks I've already pre-rated.

Everyone uses the rating field differently, but we have 5 Stars (6, counting "None") to work with, and they are notoriously finicky to select with a mouse or trackpad. I'm a programmer and sysadmin, and if I can avoid using a mouse, I will always use a keyboard.

As a programmer, I am aware of technical debt, and past architectural decisions that can make these sorts of feature requests more difficult/complex than they may seem to a non-technical person, but I think this might be straight forward to implement.

Obviously, this is not an open-source product, but since I cannot write ratings for import into an open-tagging format from a third party software solution, it makes sense to ask the Dev team if it's possible to make this native to Traktor.

Thank you for your consideration. 😀

Answers

• lord-carlos
    lord-carlos Member Posts: 2,376 Expert
    Options

Would be cool.

What I do for now is use OneTagger. An open source solution made by Traktor users.

There you can add genres, mood, stars, whathave you. And nearly everything can be done by shortcuts.

• christauff
    Options

I'd never heard of that, thank you. I just grabbed it and will give it a shot.

• christauff
    Options