Modeling Hammond Tonewheel Organs inside of Reaktor Primary or Core?

cs5947
cs5947 Member Posts: 28 Member
edited March 2022 in Reaktor

Hi, I'm new to NI's reaktor, and I have been interested in physical modeling of virtual Hammond organs (specifically the B3 and C3) but I do not have an actual physical B3 because I can't afford it. The best alternative I could go for is to reference from really good Hammond plugins like IK Multimedia's Hammond B3-X, Acousticsamples B5 or GSi's VB3-II.

My first Hammond ensemble (now deleted) comprised of a 9-tone-per-voice model and 1 short burst of noise for the keyclick. I'm creating a new one that aims to involve a 91-tonewheel model, 9 key contacts and calculated crosstalk.

I could easily just use 91 bare sine waves but that wouldn't allow me the flexibility I need for a good Hammond replica. I want to start modeling the pickups, circuts, imperfections and all that so it actually sounds like a real Hammond without having to buy one...

but I just don't know which formula to start with. I found this one: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/304617469_Modal_Processor_Effects_Inspired_by_Hammond_Tonewheel_Organs

That's inteded for audio effects, not instruments. I'm trying to create an INSTRUMENT here.

I also found this one:

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/350966602_Non-Linearities_of_the_mechano-electrical_tonegenerator_of_the_Hammond_Organ

but for my knowledge it's a little hard to understand. I can only do very basic maths.

I found these two videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DieOAxHSmsw

From this one I learned multiple things. 1: The drawbars are assigned to 9 key contacts, 1 drawbar for each. The highest one is the one that plays first and the lowest one plays last. 2: The Leslie speaker features 2 speakers: horn and drum.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQNrfYZndfs&t=18s