Ask Kontakt 8 creators anything

Comments

• Rob61
    Rob61 Member Posts: 2 Newcomer

Sorry, you're right, yes I can elaborate. I am relatively new to the "NI World" but I have been working in IT for 40 years, so before pulling the trigger on the NI instruments/MK3 keyboard combo (or any other tech stuff, for that matter) I have done some research because I wanted to understand how much future proof the NK3 hardware was. Now, I know that that hardware has a lot to give, at least for the few specs I could find (not too much, honestly I would like to know more about what's inside those things, and I wish NI was a little more transparent about it, unless it was me unable to find the info I wanted). So the point is, I am assuming, on the little info I have, that the MK3 has a lot more potential than it delivers today with K7, so I was wondering what were the improvements in relation to the hw/sw integration.

K8 seems to be a first step, but since I never install anything on first release, I usually wait between 3 and 6 months (sorry, I don't like to be a paying beta tester, I know pretty well how these things work) I don't have it already up & running. So was asking aroung, trying to gather more info.

Hope it's clearer now :-)

• Calagan
    Calagan Member Posts: 187 Advisor
    edited September 25

Regarding the migration issue (a very big one for any pro user), at least something NI could do is an easier way to copy preset/snapshot from one instance of Kontakt (K5 for exemple) to another (K8 for exemple).

Instead of being obliged to :

• open previous Kontakt version
    • save the preset in a temporary "ad-hoc" folder (because these presets files can accumulate and will not be use ever again outside of a specific session you want to migrate)
    • then open the new version of Kontakt
    • click open a preset
    • go to search the preset in the new temporary ad-hoc folder (that is, of course, not the default folder where Kontakt will search for new presets)