Maschine+ & MC-101 together

Rico010
Rico010 Member Posts: 120 Advisor
edited 11:58AM in Maschine

Hey folks,

Wanted to share an experience about using M+ and MC-101 together as a DAWless setup for composing.

I have M+ for almost 3 years now. I love it. But never could find a solution to the CPU limits when onboard synths are used and had to use it together with other PC/MAC solutions. Frankly speaking, I hate resampling, prefer to keep MIDI editable right away. I am a hobbyist musician, so I have no space and resources for lots of hardware synths.

Recently I discovered that MC-101 has a class-compliant audio device and midi over USB (both). I bought it and connected with M+ as an audio interface and external sound module together. Added another keyboard (Launchkey Mini Mk3) over the second USB port, and I have a full DAWless setup which eliminates the CPU limits at all.

I am still testing this setup. But I already connected all this stuff with just 2 USBs at the back of M+, all USB powered. Adding the M+ power cable and a line out cable to speakers, it is really so convenient.

If anyone is interested in details, I will be glad to share more info. Testing it further, so far so good, and stable. Seems to be a dream setup to me.

Tagged:

Comments

• ozon
    ozon Member Posts: 1,646 Expert

So you use the MC-101 basically as a multi-timbral synth with four parts?

(this could be achieved with any similarly featured hardware synthesizer, such as an Virus TI Snow or Waldorf Blofeld - but probably not as portable)

• Rico010

Yes. But I was looking for a budget solution. Virus TI is way too expensive for me as a hobby maschine (though I wish I had it). So I was looking for more affordable (up to 500 EUR) and more portable option.