Kontakt key mapping not affecting light guide. What am I missing?

IvoryKeys88
IvoryKeys88 Member Posts: 26 Member
edited August 2022 in Komplete Kontrol

Hi there ...

I am just starting out with a new S88 Mk2.

I've noticed that Kontakt (for example) has no impact on the the light guide. If I load an instrument that has key mapping none of this feeds through to the keyboard.

Is there something I need to turn on to make the software talk to the light guide?

UPDATE: After further testing, I suspect the issue is broader than what I've outlined above.

I've realised the PLUG-IN mode on the KK S88 has ceased working too. A day or two ago, when loading an instrument in Kontakt (in my DAW for example) I could navigate my NI library on the S88 screens, as expected. Now it seems I can only ever use the S88 in Midi mode.

Also, the MIDI control assignments seem to not be occurring. What's more, it seems at times (on certain instruments) the keyboard keys are changing instrument settings that I would otherwise expect to be changed via the other MIDI controllers (not the 88 keys).

Something seems to have spat the dummy.

Any suggestions on how to revert or reset this system back to how it should be?

Cheers ...

Jonathan

Thanks,

Jonathan

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 9,319 mod
    Answer ✓

The same would apply to Maschine, Reaktor, etc. Basically everything N.I. related I should load into my DAW via instances of KK. Correct?

Yes, exactly.

Am I correct in thinking that third-party NKS instruments don't have S88 integration (guide lights, auto mapping of CC midi controls, etc.)

Well, NKS means they DO have the integration, that's the whole point of NKS.

Answers

• IvoryKeys88

Actually, I suspect the issue is broader than what I've outlined above.