Record MIDI notes and Audio simultaneously from piano keyboard?

Dean Papoutsis
Dean Papoutsis Member Posts: 5 Member
edited February 2022 in Maschine

Maschine Studio with 2.14.5 / MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6

I am a novice piano keyboard player (Yamaha MX88) that would like to simultaneously capture the MIDI notes and the audio samples generated by a single performance on my digital piano/synthesizer keyboard. I like the sounds, and the ability to modify them from within this keyboard synthesizer--as well as the great sustain pedal support.

I've easily accomplished this using Logic Pro X, but am struggling to make it work with Maschine. Can I have track 1 capture MIDI notes and track 2 capture Audio simultaneously (both in the same group)? I've been trying to make this work via Maschine's audio sampler/recorder to capture Audio. If I succeed at capturing Audio, I fail at capturing MIDI notes in the pattern editor grid and vice versa. Is it possible to see Midi notes in Track 1 and a wave form for the audio in Track 2 (I've also not been able to see any kind of wave form in the pattern editor grid)?

Can Maschine simultaneously capture MIDI notes and audio?

Thank you.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Dean Papoutsis
    Answer ✓

Thanks a million for your help Blindeddie.

Your comment on the "loopback" made me replace the MIDI DIN cable connected to the keyboard to the Audio Interface--with a single USB cable directly to the Mac computer. (Think this was responsible for the random odd notes appearing in the other tracks within the group . . .)

Maschine then seemed to make the new available connections show in Preferences (see first screen capture below).

Then I only had to make a single change to the Control section for the Single Track I used (see first screen capture).

This worked. I ended up with a single track which combined the MIDI notes with the Audio, which I could playback within Maschine and hear.