Software vs hardware

Options
Nickalexpoole
Nickalexpoole Member Posts: 28 Member

Hi all. I'm new to the synth world. I have bought some NI and Arturia gear recently which all comes with software synths. They all sound pretty amazing to my untrained ear. I just wondered are these software synths good for professional recording and do people actually use them? Are there any famous hits that use them that I could listen to? Or would a professional listen to one of my tracks that uses software synths from arturia or NI and immediately tell I'm an amateur? I understand that the track actually has to be good in the first place but is there anything that software synths lack sonically compared to hardware ones? I might just be thinking into it too much. Just wanted to get some of you guys takes on the subject.

As a guitarist, I have some amp sims that sound great but just aren't quite there with dynamics yet and don't feel like a valve amp when playing through them, but listening back can sometimes be hard to tell the difference.

Any discussion on the matter would be appreciated.

Cheers

Comments

• PoorFellow
    PoorFellow Moderator Posts: 2,909 mod
    edited March 17
    Options

I am sure that there are many professional users using N.I. software and libraries. I know of one particular user here that very much dislikes using libraries while at the same time using N.I. synth software.

While I by no means are suggesting that all users posting in the Music made with NI thread are 'professionals' then it will give you an idea of that it can actually be used to make music. Also , who is to decide what is 'professional' and what is not ?

It's entirely possible that bands making millions wouldn't be caught dead having used N.I. software I wouldn't know but I do know that most people have started with humble beginnings and moved on from there.