Maschine and Apple Silicon

Options
marten10bones
marten10bones Member Posts: 7 Member

I have been using Maschine since 2015 on an iMac and it died last year. I bought a Mac Studio with an Apple M1 Ultra chip. I hadn't really had a chance to use it until recently. At first everything was fine, then it became unusable. The CPU levels were through the roof, audio was glitched and garbled, even after adjusting the buffer size. In one project I removed all VSTs and effects after bouncing to audio, and it made absolutely no difference. Then I started having more trouble; Maschine crashed several times, kernel panics, kext issues. I tried everything I could find online to fix it and nothing worked. I finally decided to just erase my hard drive and start all over. That was fun. I think I brought issues with me from my iMac, and saw where other people had problems with System Migration, Audio problems, kernel crashes, kexts seem to be an issue as well. Has anyone else been experiencing difficulties with Apple Silicon and Maschine? I've found a few cases online but generally it seems not many people are having issues. I already downloaded Maschine but haven't had a chance to test it yet. I'm begininng to think there is no fix and I'm just screwed. I almost didn't get another Mac and now I am seriously regretting it. This has been a nightmare. Any help or suggestions, thoughts.....thanks

Best Answers

• tetsuneko
    tetsuneko Member Posts: 609 Guru
    Answer ✓
    Options

There is a known issue with the latest Maschine software and M1 Max & Ultra chips. NI is working on solving the issue. In the meantime, users are recommended to downgrade affected systems to an earlier version of Maschine software.

• solsta
    solsta Member Posts: 103 Helper
    Answer ✓
    Options