How do I connect and configure Komplete Kontrol S88 mk3 for half pedaling

Options
Mostacholi
Mostacholi Member Posts: 5 Newcomer

Hi, first post ever on NI forums. I am new to NI hardware and software, and I only have basic knowledge about MIDI. I recently acquired the S61 mk3 controller, and was able to get half pedaling working by disabling the sustain pedal in the controller's settings (Mode=OFF), and configuring the "Assign 1" port as follows: Mode=CONTINUOUS, Invert=OFF, Swap=RING, Type=CONTROL CHANGE, MIDI: Channel=1 Number=64, Range: From=0 To=127. I am using a Roland DP-10 pedal with its internal switch set to "continuous", and plugged into the "Assign 1" jack in the back of the S61 mk3.

With this configuration, the sustain pedal works wonderfully, with half pedaling in all it splendor. No matter what I throw at it (Kontakt libraries, Arturia Piano V stand alone app, or VSTs through Logic Pro X) half pedaling is flawless on the S61 mk3 every single time.

After a few weeks auditioning the S61, I started being displeased with the keybed. I liked everything else about it, so I did the logical thing; I got my hands on an S88 mk3. In terms of the keybed, this was definitely the right move. Unfortunately, I cannot get half pedaling working using the same configuration that works on the S61 mk3. I also tried setting the "Sustain Pedal" port as continuous on the S88 settings, using the "Assign 2" port instead, and setting "MIDI Selection" to both MIDI 2.0 and MIDI 1.0 (via the controller's settings). Nothing works on the S88 mk3 as far as half pedaling goes. I can get the Sustain pedal to work as a switch (FULL sustain or NO sustain), but cannot achieve the half pedal functionality. I can go back and forth between the S61 mk3 and the S88 mk3 using the same VST software, and only the S61 mk3 is allowing the half pedal to work.