Traktor 3 Reliability Issues on Win 10 (Music turns into loud "buzz" or won't play)

Options
Mr Kris
Mr Kris Member Posts: 5 Newcomer

Hi all,

I've been using my Traktor S4 Mk2 since 2017, largely reliably until recently. Currently running on a Windows 10 Machine- Asus Tuf Gaming Ryzen 7 3750H, 16GB RAM. Music library is on its own Samsung Internal SSD.

For a long time, Traktor had been dead reliable- prior to this PC, I was running it on a $250 Best Buy special laptop. Could barely run anything, Traktor ran slowly- but never failed to play music. That also describes my experience on my current laptop, until later versions of Traktor 2, and now Traktor 3.

There are 2 main bugs that happen, and I've seen once described on these forums many times, and in Reddit threads and other various websites. The other I haven't seen described before.

Bug 1: The "loud buzzing" sound. After some amount of time playing music, the music will stop, and the audio output is an extremely loud "buzzing" sound. It's not exactly a buzz- it almost sounds like it's a fraction of a beat being repeated. The most common response I see to this issue is to run latency mon and check for buffer underruns. I can confirm that once this happens- the buffer is no longer fed and continuously underruns. I've also run latency mon- I did note that Adobe Creative Cloud would cause issues, so I uninstalled that. (This laptop is 99% dedicated to DJ work, had it installed to do one thing one weekend.) I was testing by letting Traktor autoplay overnight, and after uninstalling CC, it would consistently play for 12hrs+ with no crashing. Thought my problem was solved- however last night, as I was DJing a wedding, on the first open dance floor song- music died and the buzz came in. (Traktor had already been running several hours playing background music.) Latency mon indicated no issues.