Access 3.40 no longer remembers my login

Jorgen Kirksaether
Jorgen Kirksaether Member Posts: 13 Member
edited June 2023 in Native Access

This started with 3.40: Access doesn't auto-fill my login details, which is somewhat annoying. Anybody else have this?

j,

Tagged:

Best Answer

  • Hayo_NI
    Hayo_NI Product Team Posts: 262 mod
    edited July 2023 Answer ✓

    Hey, PM of Native Access here. Allow me to clarify some things for you @Sunborn.

    NTK Daemon stores your authentication token (generated after a successful) locally to authenticate calls to our services, such as downloading a product. It is not connected to your web login. You can be logged out on the website and yet logged in on Native Access. Native Access does not work without an internet connection.

    The issue that's happened here is that we released a fix that caused our backend services to be overwhelmed following a necessary service upgrade that we reeled back. Unfortunately, the urgency for which we needed to release this fix caused a bug where this token was not properly refreshed. We're releasing a fix in 3.5.0 which is coming next week/early week after.

    We apologise for the inconvenience.

«13

Answers

  • Sunborn
    Sunborn Member Posts: 2,104 Expert
    edited July 2023

    Solution 1: Click "exit" to close Native Access, do not logout.

    If this is not the case, then:

    Solution 2: Delete the following files and folder:

    • Macintosh HD > Users > your username > Library > Preferences > com.native-instruments.NTKDaemon.plist
    • Macintosh HD > Users > your username > Library > Application Support > Native Instruments > NTK
    • Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support > Native Instruments > NTK

    For Windows, go to C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Native Instruments\ and delete Native Access folder

    Then restart your computer.

  • Jorgen Kirksaether
    Jorgen Kirksaether Member Posts: 13 Member

    Success (deleting the AppData folders). Cheers,

    j,

  • Headfirstonly
    Headfirstonly Member Posts: 13 Member

    Deleting the folders worked for me for the next time I ran Native Access. However, the time after that, I had to enter my login details again so it only appears to be a temporary fix. It's frustrating.

  • Jorgen Kirksaether
    Jorgen Kirksaether Member Posts: 13 Member

    Same. Something's not right with the latest version of NA, and it's quite annoying.

    j,

  • Jorgen Kirksaether
    Jorgen Kirksaether Member Posts: 13 Member

    Any updates on this? The fixes mentioned are only temporary, something else is going on here.


    j,

  • Headfirstonly
    Headfirstonly Member Posts: 13 Member

    Mods, please note that this issue is NOT answered. It's still happening.

  • Sunborn
    Sunborn Member Posts: 2,104 Expert

    Then it should be something in your computer security settings... I have been logged in maybe more than one year and never get logged out

  • Jorgen Kirksaether
    Jorgen Kirksaether Member Posts: 13 Member

    This is a new issue, that appeared with 3.40. Something's changed on NI's side. If we need to turn something on or off, we need to be told what.


    j,

  • PoorFellow
    PoorFellow Moderator Posts: 1,483 mod

    I think it a bit odd that nobody in a discussion like this cares to state their OS used !

    I myself also have this problem and I find it really annoying. On my PC it is Native Access v. 3.4.0 on Windows 10 - 64 bit !

  • Sunborn
    Sunborn Member Posts: 2,104 Expert
    edited July 2023
  • Jorgen Kirksaether
    Jorgen Kirksaether Member Posts: 13 Member
    edited July 2023

    Win11, all updates AND Win10/64. Same problem on both.


    j,

  • Sunborn
    Sunborn Member Posts: 2,104 Expert
    edited July 2023

    OK people, i might have an idea why this is happening!

    Do you clean up your cookies?

    Native Access is many things but also it is a web application. So it leaves traces.

    Here is the folder in my computer. Notice, than many things are web-related.


    So, why some people are logged-in since forever while others have to enter password every time?

    Because of cookies!

    Don't get me wrong, i also delete my cookies on a daily basis. But, i have a very long list of cookies, that never deleted or expired. I have this "exception" list, not only on all of my browsers, but also on every cleaning program i use, such as the CCleaner.

    So, please do this, and do some tests to see if its working.

    Add the addresses from the image below, to be excluded from any kind of cookie-cleaning, everywhere.

    Thank me later 😊 (...or blame me 😋)


    Note 1: It is most likely that only the first address should be excluded, since it is the address that authorize things, but just in case add them all. If you also add community.native-instruments.com you will never need to login again in this forum too ;-)

    Note 2 - Important!: It is also very much likely that Native Access login is very relative with the state of your account on NI web site! If you logout from website you also log out from Native Access. But, i don't have the necessary info to support this case, though i believe my guess is correct.

  • PoorFellow
    PoorFellow Moderator Posts: 1,483 mod
    edited July 2023

    I appear to have nailed problem down to something related to NTKDaemon and nothing to do with password not being remembered.

    As a demo try the following. Log into Native Access , then close app (do not log out) , then restart PC , when PC is restarted then FIRST thing you do is to do a CTRL+ALT+Delete and bring up Task Manager , in Task Manager kill the process NTKDaemon (there ought to be only that one by that name). Then and only then start your Native Access , you will see that Native Access is suddenly unhappy and starts to re-install it's services , but what you should also notice is that the app log-in by itself so will see that it actually has remembered the log-in credentials and that is is just because of something wrong in connection with the NTKDaemon that it does what it does !

    So only 'intermediate fix' for not having to put in password again is to kill the the NTKDaemon after every startup of Windows and let the Nativa Access re-install it's dependencies every time you start it first time after starting Windows ! (or that one delays the NTKDaemonServices , please refer to my other post on page 2)

    @Jeremy_NI , could you please get someone to look at this problem ? Thank you !

  • Sunborn
    Sunborn Member Posts: 2,104 Expert
    edited July 2023

    Good catch, but... it takes a lot more time to do all this process, than to simply write your password again... :-)

  • PoorFellow
    PoorFellow Moderator Posts: 1,483 mod

    Sorry , Sunborn , but you fail to understand the point of it all here , this is troubleshooting and I am reporting while giving other people with the same problem the opportunity to confirm my findings !

Back To Top