Structuring songs

Mudloop
Mudloop Member Posts: 5 Newcomer

I’m fairly new to Maschine, and I’m struggling a bit with how to structure things. I realise there’s multiple ways to do things, so I’m curious how you would achieve something like this.

Let’s say I have a verse loop of two bars. I want to repeat this 8 times, but on the 4th loop I want a little fill in the drums, and on the last loop I want a different full, along with a bass fill.

Would you make a long scene where the drums are long patterns with both fills included, and the bass is also full length with the full at the end?

Or split it up into two scenes that are half the length? Or even 3 scenes (regular, version with fill1, version with fill2)?

Or would you have the fills inserted in the song view as clips?

The first option has the downside that I’d be repeating a lot of information within each pattern, making it harder to change things later. Second option means a lot of scenes which could get messy. Third option means I can’t really work on my fills or properly hear them in ideas mode (I think), but it’s kind of how I would do things in Logic, just working in the timeline.

There might be a better option that I’m not aware of. I was thinking that the ideal way for me would be to have a way inside scenes to say “play main pattern 3 times and then play full pattern”. Like a combo-pattern.

Thanks!

Comments

• LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,196 Expert

As you said (and are aware of, since you already talk about clips and what else) there are multiple ways to arrange songs.

In my opinion there are no “best” or “worse” way…the one that clicks with you will be your personal best.