Kontrol 2024 outlook: what was, what now, what next?

Comments

• Super8boy
    Super8boy Member Posts: 85 Helper

or maybe control wasn’t great to start with so people use a dedicated other controller for the daw.
    doesn’t mean it deserves to be dumbed down by NI

• BIF
    BIF Member Posts: 945 Guru

As a manager, I constantly catch people who grossly underestimate the time it takes other people doing the things! Some of them even underestimate their own ability to do the things. And EVERYBODY underestimates the Q/A and testing needed, plus the documentation that never seems to be able to write itself! 😏

The problem is, metrics will flag you and bean-counters will hound you if you exceed a + or - 10% variance on what you said the project would take. And then people don't want to do those jobs anymore, so they jump teams. Or worse, they jump ship. And it always takes forever + a month to hire somebody new.

• Maciej Repetowski
    Maciej Repetowski Member Posts: 666 Guru
    edited May 25

A matter of opinion, perhaps. I was happy with Mk2 as control surface for Logic Pro and I am nearly happy with Mk3, which is only going to get better. I don’t like to have many things on my desk doing the job of one well designed thing 😉

Unless you need lots of moving faders, then SSL is your friend (or Icon, if the budget is tight).

• DunedinDragon
    DunedinDragon Member Posts: 906 Guru
    edited May 25

Over my decades long career in product management I can't even count the number of organizations that have these same deficiencies. The reality is the "bean counters" are only there to CYA for the management as they provide nothing of substance for those that actually have to deliver the projects. The bean counters have no skin in the game.