Traktor DVS more "sticky" compared to regular vinyl?

Options

Hello

I'm new to vinyl and dvs.

I noticed that my normal records are very slippery, as in i don't feel much force/pressure when I hold them when the turn table is spinning.

But with my new red Traktor timecode vinyl I can feel a difference. It sticks much more to the different slip mats that I have. Thus it takes more to hold it and scratch it while the turn table is spinning.

Why?

My red DVS weights about 150g and my regular record about 140g. I doubt that's it.

Does the color/material mix matter? Or is it because it's so new? Or because the noise pattern grips more?

Tagged:

Best Answer

• lord-carlos
    lord-carlos Member Posts: 2,460 Expert
    Answer ✓
    Options

Huh, after further investigation it seems that just one side of one "regular" record is very very slippery.

And more or less by accident I used that one to compare it to my DVS.

Others are more or less similar to each other.

Thanks everyone.

Answers

• Patch
    Patch Member Posts: 243 Pro
    Options

Have you tried turning the record over?

• pARty_bOy
    pARty_bOy Member Posts: 63 Advisor
    Options

the white timecodes are the heavier, you will have to apply more hand force to backspin. the clear timecodes are the lighter.

• lord-carlos
    Options

As I wrote, my clear red timecode vinyl is 150g and the regular record is 140g. I can't imagine those 10g making a difference.

• Patch
    Patch Member Posts: 243 Pro
    Options

The Red ones are the ones I use.

I scratch a lot. Maybe the hole in the record on your red vinyl is a little tight?

• lord-carlos
    Answer ✓
    Options

Huh, after further investigation it seems that just one side of one "regular" record is very very slippery.

And more or less by accident I used that one to compare it to my DVS.

Others are more or less similar to each other.

Thanks everyone.

• Owner
    Owner Member Posts: 317 Pro
    Options