Some help needed with latency

Options
Irnerius
Irnerius Member Posts: 3 Newcomer
edited March 28 in Komplete Kontrol

Hi,

I've made a slight error.

I decided to start playing piano as a complete beginner. I have classical interest.

I bought, as far as I knew at that time, a second hand keyboard at a second hand store in town to start playing. When I took it home, it became very obvious that this thing had no speaker or power cable, and that it needed to be plugged in my computer to get any sound. I did so and downloaded the software. I bought an Komplete Control A61.

It does work, but it doesn't really feel like a real piano (which it obviously isn't). Even while using 'The Genteleman', I feel like there is a slight delay between pressing a key and hearing a sound. A delay that isn't there when playing a real piano or regular keyboard (I actually went to a pianostore to compare)

Is there a way to 'fix' the delay? I guess this machine is used for producing/recording music with effects in a much broader sense than just playing. I have no interest in producting or recording music. I just want to play. Is this possible for me with this keyboard?

Thank you.

Best Answers

• PK The DJ
    PK The DJ Member Posts: 1,146 Guru
    Answer ✓
    Options

The delay is called latency, which can be quite high on an average computer because the audio interface is designed for general use, rather than for musicians etc.

Typically a "low latency" interface is required. On PC (Windows) these use a protocol called ASIO.

You can Google for "ASIO interface" and find many, from budget options to high end studio level.

If you're using a Mac then someone else can assist :-)

• PoorFellow
    PoorFellow Moderator Posts: 2,822 mod
    edited March 28 Answer ✓
    Options

Your profile says PC so I will go with that.

Quote : "I feel like there is a slight delay between pressing a key and hearing a sound"