A noticeable delay when playing through my Komplete Audio 6 Mk1

Options
skabbo
skabbo Member Posts: 6 Member

So I've had this interface forever, and I've gone through periods of using it heavily, and some of using it not-so-much. I recently started playing a lot again, so I plugged in, and I noticed something I don't remember hearing when previously using it (possibly pointing to a setup issue? But it's about as simple as it gets).

The issue is a slight delay between when I play a note on my guitar (running in on Line 2), and when that note is sounded by my PC speakers. For reference, I have a Tele running into a either into a pedalboard then to Input 2, or just Tele raw into Input 2 - doesn't make a difference in the delay I speak of. If I had to guess, I'd say it's roughly 250ms - short enough that it doesn't make me stumble over my words when I'm talking (I have a mic plugged into Input 1), but long enough that it does make me stumble over my playing when using the Tele. Using the Direct Monitoring option eliminates this, so it's not a problem between the input and the immediate output, but that rules out fun things like playing around with amp modeling software.

I've run the diagnostics that come with the Komplete 6 software, and it doesn't uncover any issues. The Control Panel is set to 48khz sample rate, 128 samples process buffer, and 1ms USB buffer. The Device Monitor returns 'Process State' = Streaming, and 7.0ms of Output Latency. The combined 8ms latency (between the USB buffer and the output latency) definitely doesn't explain the length of the delay I'm hearing. It becomes very obvious when switching back and forth between direct monitoring.