Does the NI Forum Community Culture need a change?

Options

Comments

• Milkman
    Milkman Member Posts: 219 Advisor
    Options

I am posting sincerely, sarcastically, as this is my last recourse before open anger. I have... a wealth of experience not only in this industry, but numerous related tech industries going back over 30 years. I am not commenting from a place of agreement with these sorts of brand management philosophies, and I have been a brand manager in my past professional life, among other things.

For reference, check out the Steinberg forums. After Yamaha bought them out years ago, things slowly transitioned on their forums, too. We went from having lots of normal threads and some angry threads, to 50/50 angry/not angry threads where Steinberg brand managers began categorizing angry customers as "not helpful", then censoring their comments. This philosophy alienated many of us, and ultimately gave rise to Bitwig and the CLAP protocol. Just saying.... lol.

• Matt_NI
    Matt_NI Administrator Posts: 1,117 admin
    Options

Thanks @wayfinder for the detailed feedback!

one report/flag button with a custom reason field should be enough.

We would actually need to keep the SPAM because it permits everyone to remove spam if a few people click it. We can't have mods around 24/7 and we do get spams randomly flooding the community (as you probably noticed in the past).

The report would work just as you described though, we would offer reason to choose from to make it fast but there is also a text field to just write a comment.

don't overthink it, imo. why "off topic" out of all the possible reactions? is it really that much of a problem?

You might be right. I see a lot of reports for off topic so I thought perhaps having a similar bury mechanism in the hands of users would be useful.

the cash/gear prizes for top contributors may well have incentivized people to powerpost