Does the NI Forum Community Culture need a change?

Options

Comments

• nightjar
    nightjar Member Posts: 1,305 Guru
    edited December 2023
    Options

I have no experience being a moderator... so maybe this is not practical or already a common thing:

BUT.. if moderation is labor/time intensive...

Keep flagging alive, but a single flag might be considered meaningless to an automated system of sorts

Instead multiple flags (3 or 4) from different established users might send a notice to moderators that someone is being abusive in some fashion.

A single person or two using flags as a personal vendetta won't trigger this notice to moderators.

But 3-4 well-established users flagging a post as abusive might be a manageable thing for current level of moderation personnel.

• Percivale
    Percivale Member Posts: 209 Advisor
    edited December 2023
    Options

I would say that this is one of the most toxic forum I've bothered to be still around. I stuck with it mainly to find news for Maschine's future. I've had my own share of encounters with folks who "who dares flag my post" and "I'm entitled therefore I am what I am" members. Just because you can does not mean you should. A majority are not like that, but allowing such behaviour to surface repeatedly and "get away" only serves to diminish the use of the forum and drive new members away.

There are a no. of ways this forum can improve.

1. Review the conditions of use (minimally is to exercise respect and common sense).
    2. Take prompt & decisive action against those who flout the conditions of use (do not hesitate to period suspend or perm ban recalcitrant offenders).
    3. Apply consistency when engaging users (and work behind the scenes).
    4. Keep at it for it will take time - an organic, self-regulating group does not occur overnight (the norms take time to evolve and take shape).

Other considerations

1. Dump the post-for-prize scheme.