Logic crashes when loading certain libraries in kontakt 7

Basani
Basani Member Posts: 1 Newcomer
edited January 10 in Kontakt

When opening most of the instruments in libraries with Kontakt 7, Logic crashes immediately.

I've tried all of the suggestions in the help section


Thanks


crash data: -------------------------------------

Translated Report (Full Report Below)

-------------------------------------


Process:       Logic Pro X [2729]

Path:         /Applications/Logic Pro.app/Contents/MacOS/Logic Pro X

Identifier:      com.apple.logic10

Version:       10.8.1 (5906)

Build Info:      MALogic-5906000000000000~2 (1A56)

App Item ID:     634148309

App External ID:   861312964

Code Type:      ARM-64 (Native)

Parent Process:    launchd [1]

User ID:       501


Date/Time:      2023-12-10 12:18:03.7011 +1000

OS Version:      macOS 14.1.2 (23B92)

Report Version:    12

Anonymous UUID:    BFE1E99D-F378-CAA0-2378-B90B446654B3



Time Awake Since Boot: 2400 seconds


System Integrity Protection: enabled


Crashed Thread:    0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread


Exception Type:    EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)

Exception Codes:   KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000000

Exception Codes:   0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000


Termination Reason:  Namespace SIGNAL, Code 11 Segmentation fault: 11

Terminating Process: exc handler [2729]


VM Region Info: 0 is not in any region. Bytes before following region: 4368662528

   REGION TYPE          START - END    [ VSIZE] PRT/MAX SHRMOD REGION DETAIL

   UNUSED SPACE AT START

---> 

   __TEXT           104648000-106458000  [ 30.1M] r-x/r-x SM=COW ...S/Logic Pro X

Best Answers

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod
    Answer ✓

    @Basani If that didn't help, please give us more details. Do you have a Kontrol Mk3 keyboard connected when this happens? Which libraries crash and which ones do not crash? Do they also crash in Kontakt in standalone?

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member
    Answer ✓

    @Jeremy_NI Although I do not use the MK3 keyboard but one from a different vendor, I just tried the suggested fix with deleting /Users/user name/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs - and it worked!

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod
    Answer ✓

    I'll close this thread to streamline communication, please check this thread: komplete kontrol mk3 crashing logic with Kontakt 7.

«1

Answers

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod
    edited December 2023

    @Basani What is your operating system? We've seen similar crashes when the MK3 keyboard is connected, is it your case as well?

    If this is the case, closing Logic and deleting this file should fix the issue:

    /Users/user name/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs

    Note: the User Library folder is hidden. To access it, click on Go in the menu bar and press down the Alt key. You'll now find the Library entry in the menu:

    Restart Logic, does it fix the issue?

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod
    Answer ✓

    @Basani If that didn't help, please give us more details. Do you have a Kontrol Mk3 keyboard connected when this happens? Which libraries crash and which ones do not crash? Do they also crash in Kontakt in standalone?

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member

    I have the same problem since a few days - maybe after updating to the latest Kontakt player 7 version. I am using various instruments which I recently bought from NI. Most of them cause Logic Pro to crash when loading the instrument. There is only one instrument that does not crash Logic Pro, that is Una Corda. All others like Session Bassist - Icon Bass, Session Guitarist - Electric Mint, Stradivari Cello lead to the above error report.

    As I do not use any NI hardware, I think the recommendation to delete the preferences file will not help.

    My operating system is Sonoma 14.1.2 on Mac Studio with Apple M1 Max chip.

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member

    Here is a copy from my error report:

    -------------------------------------

    Translated Report (Full Report Below)

    -------------------------------------


    Process:       Logic Pro X [2332]

    Path:         /Applications/Logic Pro X.app/Contents/MacOS/Logic Pro X

    Identifier:      com.apple.logic10

    Version:       10.8.1 (5906)

    Build Info:      MALogic-5906000000000000~2 (1A56)

    App Item ID:     634148309

    App External ID:   861312964

    Code Type:      ARM-64 (Native)

    Parent Process:    launchd [1]

    User ID:       501


    Date/Time:      2023-12-28 20:32:20.1825 +0100

    OS Version:      macOS 14.1.2 (23B92)

    Report Version:    12

    Anonymous UUID:    823D7FD1-49A5-74DA-A1A8-CCD19C6305FC



    Time Awake Since Boot: 2700 seconds


    System Integrity Protection: enabled


    Crashed Thread:    0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread


    Exception Type:    EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)

    Exception Codes:   KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000000

    Exception Codes:   0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000


    Termination Reason:  Namespace SIGNAL, Code 11 Segmentation fault: 11

    Terminating Process: exc handler [2332]


    VM Region Info: 0 is not in any region. Bytes before following region: 4305960960

       REGION TYPE          START - END    [ VSIZE] PRT/MAX SHRMOD REGION DETAIL

       UNUSED SPACE AT START

    ---> 

       __TEXT           100a7c000-10288c000  [ 30.1M] r-x/r-x SM=COW ...S/Logic Pro X


    Kernel Triage:

    VM - (arg = 0x3) mach_vm_allocate_kernel failed within call to vm_map_enter



    Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

    0 CoreFoundation            0x189b3b6d0 CF_IS_OBJC + 24

    1 CoreFoundation            0x1899f3d30 CFStringGetCString + 84

    2 MAAudioEngine            0x105e61dd8 MAAEAudioUnit::AU2PlugIn::GetControlName(short, unsigned long, char*) + 244

    3 Logic Pro X             0x101cad6e8 0x100a7c000 + 19076840

    ....

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member

    By the way:

    I am using Kontact version 7.7.3 2023-12-14.

    In Kontakt standalone everything works fine - no crash there.

    What I tried already: I reinstalled one of the crashing instruments and then tried again to run the instrument in Logic. It did not help.

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member

    Also good to know: in existing projects where the problematic instruments are already present, I can still use them. Logic will not crash.

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member
    Answer ✓

    @Jeremy_NI Although I do not use the MK3 keyboard but one from a different vendor, I just tried the suggested fix with deleting /Users/user name/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs - and it worked!

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod

    @LotharW Thanks for the update. Can you let us know what model/brand is the keyboard?

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member

    @Jeremy_NI I am using nektar impact lx61.

  • LotharW
    LotharW Member Posts: 7 Member

    @Jeremy_NI Trouble began after I ran the customisation for Logics.

  • apsande
    apsande Member Posts: 8 Member

    I get this too. Only happens in Logic 10.8.1 when the 61 MK keyboard is plugged in. Loading Duets in Kontakt 7.7.3 will reproduce this error. Using a Mac Book Pro 16 with M1 Pro and Sonoma 14.2.1

    I deleted the  /Users/user name/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs, but this didn't solve it.

    Andrew

  • Shay Haim
    Shay Haim Member Posts: 2 Newcomer

    I've tried it, it doesn't help! I'm using Komplete Kontrol s88 MK3 and it crashing logic whenever I try to load a library in Kontakt 7. I just bought the keyboard and It makes it unusable to work with.

    What do you suggest?

  • Shay Haim
    Shay Haim Member Posts: 2 Newcomer

    I had to store my new MK3 s88 keyboard for now as it is unusable. This is a very expensive keyboard to buy.. This is very disappointing.

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod

    @Shay Haim If you disconnect the keyboard, does it stop the crashes? Do you have a Samsung Ultra wide screen?

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,907 mod

    @Shay Haim Are you on MacOS Sonoma? Unfortunately the fix doesn't work for Macs on Sonoma. I4ve updated this thread:

    komplete kontrol mk3 crashing logic with Kontakt 7.

This discussion has been closed.
Back To Top