What are the rules around using plugins and instruments on multiple computers?

Options
danthehitman
danthehitman Member Posts: 3 Newcomer
edited February 20 in Komplete General

Hi, I am new to music making and I have just started getting into it with the kids. I am about to pull the trigger on Komplete 14 Ultimate during the sale but it occurred to me that I may have issues with using this as a family. I cant afford to buy 3 licenses even at the $600 sale price, but I dont want to buy it and only be able to use it myself. I have desktop and two laptops that we use in different ways around the house. One is by the electric piano and we use the midi to compose there, one is in my office where I do most of the learning and work on "finishing" pieces, and one is at our new mini studio area where we have some studio monitors, midi controller, mixing board, etc... Anyway, my question is, will we be able to use plugins and instruments at all three of these stations with 1 license? Are there rules around running the same plugin on different computers at the same time? If so, are they per plugin or across the entire suite of products? Most things so far have been flexible enough (Ableton Suite and other plugins) but this is a bigger purchase than most outside of Ableton so it makes me a little nervous without knowing the rules. Thanks in advance for your help.

Best Answers

• Monochrome
    Monochrome Member Posts: 1,133 Expert
    Answer ✓
    Options

NI's EULA explicitly states:

"3.3 Licensee may install and personally use the licensed software on three devices (e.g. one computer, one laptop, one workstation), provided that the said software is used only on one device regularly. Simultaneous use on more than one hardware device is not permitted. The Products may not be used on a network by multiple users, unless each user possesses a license."

• JesterMgee
    JesterMgee Member Posts: 2,603 Expert
    Answer ✓
    Options