Feedback - Komplete Kontrol 3.0

Comments

• vash1122
    vash1122 Member Posts: 2 Member
    edited October 2023

As a software developer myself, I do wish people in this topic would stop making assumptions about the composition of the development team and assuming nefarious reasons for your disappointment in the application.

Just because something may seem obvious or easy to implement, doesn't always make it so. Sometimes things interact in ways you wouldn't assume unless you have intimate knowledge of a codebase. This can create competing priorities and mean some things, even essential things, may not be implemented in what would seem like the most logical order at first blush.

Someone earlier in the thread (I think it was this one) had mentioned that in the old days, programs like this were created by musicians and were better and more powerful because of that. Ignoring the faulty assumption that there are no musicians on the development team, teams these days account for things that they may never have been accounted for back then such as accessibility. While it may mean it takes longer to get all the features you want in to the product, it opens the application up to a whole group of users that may not have been able to use it before. And this is just one example.

Voicing your opinion and dissatisfaction is important so developers can know the concerns of the community. But please, when doing so, remember that there can be many reasons the product isn't the way you want it to be, but it doesn't mean they're nefarious or even uneducated reasons. There's been a lot more communication from the NI team recently that I don't want to see go away. Be vocal and share your thoughts but please be respectful and don't assume things. It makes the back and forth much more productive and pleasant to read.

Edit: And I just wanted to say, there are some very productive and pleasant conversations already being had and I'm glad about that.

• Matthew_NI