Kontakt Scripting - Best way to create Wet / Dry FX?

TVCulture
TVCulture Member Posts: 3 Member
edited August 2022 in Scripting Workshop

Hey! First time poster. Apologies if this has been asking before, I did look!

I'm making a Kontakt instrument with a few different FX dry/web knobs such as reverb, phaser etc. I have the knob mapped to $ENGINE_PAR_SEND_EFFECT_OUTPUT_GAIN and $ENGINE_PAR_SEND_EFFECT_DRY_LEVEL on the FX, reducing and increasing the appropriate dry or wet volume as needed. However I've noticed the volume seems quite inconsistent. While it sounds fine at 100% dry or 100% wet, I'm finding at 50% of both, it generally sounds quieter, almost as if the volume curve is exponential for each with the movement of the knob... if that makes sense?

on ui_control($Verb)

set_engine_par($ENGINE_PAR_SEND_EFFECT_OUTPUT_GAIN, $Verb, -1, 0, 1)

set_engine_par($ENGINE_PAR_SEND_EFFECT_DRY_LEVEL, 500000 - $Verb, -1, 0, 

Help much appreciated, sorry if this is a known issue, I am a noob

Comments

• Kaiwan_NI
    Kaiwan_NI Administrator Posts: 2,523 admin

@EvilDragon Pretty sure you know an answer to this? 🙂

• TVCulture
    TVCulture Member Posts: 3 Member

Thanks both that's so helpful :) I have it set up.

As a follow up question if possible, I noticed that Retro Machines MK2 seems to have quite a smooth setup for FX (Reverb and Echo) but for the life of me I can't figure out exactly how it works. There seems to be something automating the send levels of the effects, based on the knob position... as if when the key is triggered, the FX send level on the source module turns to zero. It doesn't seem to be modulated by any ADSRs I can see

(A). Is this superior in some way to automating the dry/wet as discussed above?

(B). IF SO - would someone mind explaining exactly how the FX work in Retro machines?