VST3 support for NI instruments and effects

electron7
electron7 Member Posts: 1 Newcomer
edited July 2022 in Komplete General

hi

why are all the plugins not vst 3 yet?

Cubase annonces that this year they will stop vst 2 support!

greetz

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• Simchris
    Simchris Member Posts: 211 Advisor

A lot of NI plugins are now vst3. Older stuff need other updates for windows 11, mac mx, etc. ongoing process. A VST3 category topic in forum probably good idea.

• Jeff Wraight
    Jeff Wraight Member Posts: 3 Member

Hi Folks,

I've been using NI software for 22 years. I am now retired - still doing the odd gig but enjoying my pension.

I am still on Complete Ultimate 11 and over the years I have usually 'Leapfrogged' every other update. i.e. I went from 9 to 11 - I can't afford to move to 13 though, so have to stay with 11

Is this going to cause problems with the VST2 plugins which Steinberg say they are going to phase out?

I see elsewhere that some of the NI plug ins are being updated to VST3. To be honest I'm not sure where to look to see if mine are VST3 or 2.

I keep everything updated in Native Access.

I would be grateful if someone could let me know what's happening and what, if anything I should do.

Sorry but everything is getting just that little bit slower as I approach 70. LOL

Best wishes

Jeff

• Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 9,321 mod

Hey Jeff,

Since you own Komplete 11, you're entitled to update the products you own, so you'll be able to have the VST3 versions as soon as they are ready as an update for your products. Don't worry, VST2 is not going to disappear over night, a lot of software developers and DAWs still support the format. Still, VST3 is definitely the future. We'll make an article soon to sum up which NI plug-ins are VST3 and which will soon be, I'll make sure to post that article here.

• r.u.sirius
    r.u.sirius Member Posts: 1 Member