Trying to play a Maschine drum kit with A61 keyboard via Komplete Kontrol software

Options
Joelinho
Joelinho Member Posts: 3 Newcomer

I'm a complete beginner, so sorry if this is an obvious question!

I have just bought a Komplete Kontrol A61 keyboard and the basic software that comes with it. In particular, I have the Maschine Factory Selection Sounds. In the Maschine 2 software, I can load a Maschine kit and spread the different drums out on the A61's keyboard. However, I can't find a way to do this using the Komplete Kontrol software. There I can only access the drums as individual one-shots, giving me one sample on the entire keyboard (with varying pitch).

Is there a way in Komplete Kontrol to play the whole Maschine drum kit with the keyboard, with different keys playing the different drums?

I have seen something very similar done in a YouTube video (sorry I can't post links as I'm too new! The title is "Creating drums with Komplete and Komplete Kontrol", by SubBass Academy of Electronic Music). It looks like in the Komplete Kontrol browser he is able to see whole kits, rather than just individual one-shots. Then he loads a kit and it automatically spreads the drums out on his keyboard. There are two differences with my set-up: (1) I don't think he's using a Maschine drum kit. (2) He has an S-series keyboard. I wonder if these (and in particular number 1) are why he can do this.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me!

Best Answer

• LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,307 Expert
    edited March 1 Answer ✓
    Options

Yes, the guy in the video is not using a Maschine Group in KK (which is not possible) but a Kontakt drumkit.