Sample Map Builder is still available (if you run it in Java)

P-box
P-box Member Posts: 60 Member
edited February 15 in Building With Reaktor

Hi All,

After a little digging, I found a functioning version of Sample Map Builder.

It is based on the code of the now missing ReliveTheFuture website.

It runs in the Java app, which can be downloaded in a Mac or Win version.

Sample Map Builder: https://github.com/Normalised/SampleMapBuilder

Brett Kallmer's Youtube tutorial on using SampleMapBuilder:

I hope this is helpful.

--Paul

Comments

• uksnowy
    uksnowy Member Posts: 28 Member

This is fantastic I was just looking at that a few weeks ago but I could not see how to get it to work. I am not a coder and do not understand GutHub. It is a minefield for me. I would not know where to start. Any chance you could provide some instructions on how to get it to run. That is, which file to chose and how to run it in the JAVA app.

Thank in advance.

• P-box

hi @uksnowy ,

Hi,

I believe I actually posted the wrong link. Too many searches.... sorry.

Here's the correct link: https://www.softpedia.com/get/Multimedia/Audio/Other-AUDIO-Tools/Map-File-Builder.shtml

It's a bit confusing because the Softpedia site wants to keep directing you to click on ads, but once you get the right places to click you'll navigate to 2 different screens and then you will end up downloading a file called "MapFileBuilder.jar" This is the file that opens the small interface (GUI) that is shown in Brett Kallmers video.

You do not need to unpack this .jar file, even if it has a graphic that says "Zip". All you need to do, once Java is installed on your computer, is double click on the file to launch it.

I am running this on a Mac, and had to download the Java app (for Mac) from the Java.com website.