BAX has send me a X1 MK3

ArtisanS
ArtisanS Member Posts: 15 Member
edited September 2023 in Traktor Software & Hardware

Why by the good Lord, doesn't as device work out of the box in 2023.

Should I wait till Wednesday.....no problem....but not realy freindly.

After an upgrade to Native Acces 2, a registration, a link to Traktor 3.10 upgrade, a vaccuum cleaning of the house and a emptying of the dishwasher, a settings change in Traktor and a push of loop button, it worked.

Only 2 hours of frustration. That could have been mittigated by a working ni-de/traktor-setup website.

«1

Comments

  • Markovicz
    Markovicz Customer Care Posts: 381 mod
    Answer ✓

    Hi @ArtisanS,

    please note that our Support Community is English only, therefore please use a translation service such as deepl.com or Google Translate. Thank you :)

    In regards to your problem, please be a bit more specific and let us know the following:

    1. Which device are you referring to?
    2. Which installation website are you referring to?
    3. Which operating system (e.g. Windows 11, macOS 13) are you using?
    4. Have you also contacted BAX in this matter as well?

    Thanks in advance!

  • Uwe303
    Uwe303 Moderator Posts: 2,911 mod

    Hallo,

    First, this forum is english only, so please use that langue

    Second, what device are we talking about here?

  • ArtisanS
    ArtisanS Member Posts: 15 Member
    edited September 2023

    Oh, I've installed NA2, registered the Z1 MK3, through NA2. Installed Tracktor 3.10. Now my comp sees the Z1 MK3 and I can set it to Traktor Control Z1 MK3,

    But the assignment Table is empty. Why?

    And my Z1 mk3 remains in Device setup mode. Why?

  • lord-carlos
    lord-carlos Member Posts: 2,056 Expert
    Answer ✓

    X1 mk3 ;-)

    You can't custom map it for now. I would assume that's why the assignment table is empty.

    I don't know why it's in setup mode. Does it show the screen where you can decide what decks you want to control?

  • ArtisanS
    ArtisanS Member Posts: 15 Member

    Now suddently it works....pushed the Loop button if memory serves. Boys and girls at Native Instruments, this can be easier. A getting started manual or a working website would have been nice.

  • lord-carlos
    lord-carlos Member Posts: 2,056 Expert
    edited September 2023

    Sounds like same behavior as previous X1.

    It asked you what decks you want to use, you can use loop encoders to choose, and then press to accept.

    Did they still not upload any manual? Quite bad :/

    Official release is the 20th. Maybe they will upload the manual then?

  • ArtisanS
    ArtisanS Member Posts: 15 Member

    Thanx Lord-Carlos,

    Its back to customers helping customers I guess. You should charge them :-).

    "You can't custom map it for now. I would assume that's why the assignment table is empty.", weird Max from NI gave me a direkt answer on a Youtube post that I could remap an encoder to control the filter on the channel....hmzzz, hope for the best. But be ready to offload it.

    Greats, Artisan S.

  • lord-carlos
    lord-carlos Member Posts: 2,056 Expert

    They have some stuff that you can change in the settings right away. The "Traktor X1 mk3 main" in the præference menu.


    But override with all custom functions is not yet implemented. They say it will come though. (But don't buy products based on promises)

  • Markovicz
    Markovicz Customer Care Posts: 381 mod
    edited September 2023

    Due to the complexity of the TRAKTOR KONTROL onboard mappings, they are hard-coded - but still can be customized using the factory override:

    How to Add TRAKTOR Functions to a Native Instruments Controller (Override Factory Map)

    Using the Controller Manager in TRAKTOR: Mapping a TRAKTOR KONTROL Device


    Edit: For the X1 MK3, the override functionality is still to be implemented though!


    Regarding the setup procedure, @lord-carlos is absolutely right: the assigment of the X1 is being confirmed just the same way as with the MK2 generation.

    Regarding Getting Started / Operation Manual: mind that the official instore date is indeed Wednesday, let's hope that NI has prepared something here!

  • nachopenades
    nachopenades Member Posts: 164 Pro

    They announced that the manual will be available from launch day, this Wednesday.

  • lord-carlos
    lord-carlos Member Posts: 2,056 Expert

    Oh, I thought override was not possible yet :0 But glad to hear it is!

    Adding preview player functionality will be the first thing I do.

  • ArtisanS
    ArtisanS Member Posts: 15 Member
    Answer ✓

    Got everything more or less working, in the future I will order a second one. And 2 F1 mk2's whenever they appear. Then a 8 channel out audio interface (Scarlett) into a Pioneer mixer. Object, 2 standard desk on A and B, a Stem deck on C (RipX), and a Remix Deck on D. All fed into a 4 channel DJM 750 MK2, except the CUE of course, that will be handled by the DJM.

    The controller feels rock solid enough, I gotta say that, in a whole other class then the Mikro MK3.

    So I'll be waiting for now.

  • Markovicz
    Markovicz Customer Care Posts: 381 mod

    Uh, you are right, that is a feature to come with the X1 MK3. My apologies!

  • ArtisanS
    ArtisanS Member Posts: 15 Member

    Thanx Mark for the fast answer, now I'm going to dive into the MK3......

  • Markovicz
    Markovicz Customer Care Posts: 381 mod
    edited September 2023 Answer ✓

    My apologies for my premature info on mapping customization - here is what @MichaelK_NI stated in the AMA recently:

    "In its first release, we don't plan to have overmapping possibilities. However, this is definitively on our roadmap as allowing the community to create their own mapping has always been very important and valuable for us."

    Let's hope it's high up on their list, for me it's kind of a must have. Love the device already though.

Back To Top