Multi-Track MIDI Recording in Maschine

mason drielling
mason drielling Member Posts: 49 Member
edited June 2023 in Maschine

Hi I have a Maschine MK3 and a S49 keyboard. I have friends over who produce and I want to record MIDI from the MK3 and the S49 simultaneously.

I've tried reconfiguring settings in the Maschine software the best I can but I can only figure out how to play MIDI from both devices together at the same time. As soon as I press record it all falls apart.

I want to confirm that recording MIDI from these two at the same time seems like it's not possible in the Maschine software?

Thanks,

Mason

Best Answers

«1

Answers

  • LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,051 Expert
    Answer ✓

    Maschine records only on the focused group

  • LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,051 Expert

    There should be something you could try. Give me a min

  • D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,755 mod
    edited June 2023

    Maschine has no arm-to-record like DAW's do, it's designed to record one thing at a time and build up Music like that, "beats" style for lack of a better term.

    You can lock a Pad to only receive MIDI from a particular MIDI device even if it's not focused but as soon as you press Record anything that receives MIDI will auto focus, this means that if the Maschine Pad's you want to record to are in different group Maschine will jump around from Group to Group.

  • LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,051 Expert
    edited June 2023

    Ok…I found a workaround for you…I’ll try to explain it, tell me if there is some passage that is not clear.

    The secret is in having the instrument and the kit you want to record in the same focused group and making the proper midi settings

    1. Load a group and chose one sound on a pad you won’t use
    2. On this pad load the instrument you want to play with the keyboard
    3. in the midi input settings for this pad, select the keyboard as its source (first picture)
    4. For all the other pads (use shift and mouse to select them all) select None as source
    5. once you’ve made your recording, if you want you can open the same instrument in another group and use midi drag and drop to copy the midi from the pad in first group containing the instrument to the second group (remember to enter keyboard mode in both groups before drag and drop and once you long pressed with the mouse and you have the midi to drag, select second group (better with Maschine controller button) and drop on new group). This part is only if you want as final result the instrument on a different group than the kit (second picture)












  • LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,051 Expert
    edited June 2023

    As you can see, trying is always worthy ☺️

    It is a workaround, but allows to accomplish the mission

    Oh…I see you edited your post👍🏼

  • LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,051 Expert

    You’re welcome

  • D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,755 mod
    edited June 2023

    Does that even work? have you tested it? Once you're Recording Maschine jumps to whatever Group is receiving MIDI, if theres 2 it jumps back and forth from my experience regardless of any MIDI IO settings.

    Depending on what OP wants to do exactly it might work if they are both recording to the same Group, one Sound/Pad MIDI Input Source locked to the S49 (might require it being in MIDI Mode) and also using a separate MIDI Channel for a instrument, and you use the MK3 to Record Drums in the same Group/Kit, this way you will both record to the same pattern... If the MK3 is in keyboard then I am not sure it will work.

  • LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,051 Expert
    edited June 2023

    Yes, tested and working. That’s why it took me a little while. I wasn’t so sure it would work, so I tried different settings before posting

    No need for different midi channels, but you have to set all other pads (except the instrument one) to None (otherwise they will play also the instrument together with the pads sounds). And also no need for the s49 to be in midi mode

  • D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,755 mod
    edited June 2023

    Humm That only works if the MK3 is recording to the Group (Pad Mode) and the Keyboard to the extra Pad/Sound, right? Im not around my maschine to test

  • mason drielling
    mason drielling Member Posts: 49 Member

    the initial intention of the software can still be preserved with simultaneous multitrack recording in maschine. prove me wrong.

  • mason drielling
    mason drielling Member Posts: 49 Member

    is It too late to change the category of this post to a feature suggestion?

  • D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,755 mod

    So, is Lost's solution a resolution to the thread or not?

    Sure, it all depends on how it's implemented, same goes for everything that one could potentially ask.

    It's probably a very big endeavour as everything depends on the focus system backbone.

    Decoupling controllers to allow them to focus on different things at the same time has been a top request since Maschine and KK-S exist, it's kind of what you're asking, it's more than just multitracking since they're both dedicated controllers.

    Better make a new clean tread otherwise all the comments will seem odd.

  • mason drielling
    mason drielling Member Posts: 49 Member

    It’s not much more complicated than multitracking. I’m not gonna sit here and argue. I can’t delete the thread on my own.

  • mason drielling
    mason drielling Member Posts: 49 Member

    It’s a workaround, you said it yourself. Don’t patronize me.

Back To Top