GR5 - Audio Interface and output settings

user90
user90 Member Posts: 14 Member

Hi,

I need some clarity here. I use Guitar Rig 5 on Windows 10 Desktop with Realtek sound card in built on the  board. I connect my guitar to Line-In so I can choose Realtek Sound as device in Settings and I hear output thru speakers connected to Line-Out port on soundcard.

I am going to use audio interface going forward. But bit unclear about the output. Will GR5 route output back to the Audio interface? If so, is there be a way to still hear sound from the Line-out port on PC?

Thanks

Tagged:

Best Answer

• user90
    edited May 2023 Answer ✓

@JesterMgee

Thanks for your reply. I connect to Line-in. No pre-amp. It works, may not be great but acceptable. I am just a hobbyist.

As of now I have 2 devices on my PC and I will soon be adding audio interface as 3rd.

1. Realtek sound card
    2. Nvidia HDMI sound card

If you are outputting toi the same output the speakers are connected to, you should hear what is processed by GR

My experiments show that GR5 can only detect the output of the selected device.

It seems it's not possible to select say Realtek sound card as input and Nvidia HDMI out as output.

So that's what my question was, if I use Audio interface will only its output be visible in GR5 to connect to?

Only Windows can do it in Sound settings but not the apps looks like GR5?

@williamswelsh75

Thanks. My research is going on since last 3 days! As of now I have a convenient setup, something that works well for me with WASAPI driver and I am wondering if I switch to Audio Interface (ASIO4ALL driver) things may not work the same way as of now. ASIO is tied to HW and is exclusive. Unfortunately the vendor is not responding so I am struggling to understand things.

Answers

• JesterMgee
    JesterMgee Member Posts: 2,534 Expert