Maschine libraries (like Lilac Glare) and the use in Komplete Control and Logic X

JSparla
JSparla Member Posts: 5 Member

Sorry for being a nOOb,

but I can't work it out... I have been using the NI Komplete series for many years, and honestly was always only interested in the synths and didn't bother with the drums. With all the upgrades I bought in the past decennia, I noticed some expansions came along with them, like Lilac Glare for instance.

Today I dived into Battery, and noticed the Lilac Glare expansion showed up, as it did in Monark, and in Massive. In fact, I used the synth sounds before in Monark and Massive.

I also noticed that when browsing the Battery kits in Komplete Kontrol a nice demo tune is played. The demo tune seems to include both the drums and melodies produced by the Monark and/or Massive synths.

In a Youtube video I noticed that if you own the Maschine hardware, there is also a Maschine Komplete Kontrol plugin, and saw how people managed to have a set of (projects? patterns?) of these pre-programmed tunes imported in Maschine.

My question is: can I access these pre-programmed patterns in Komplete Kontrol, or in Logic X, in the same way as in Maschine?

Is there a Maschine software-only version to buy? Do I overlook something obvious? Or im a only allowed the bare sounds of the expansion and not the patterns/tunes that seem to come along with it?

Hope my explanations makes sense ;-) but again: I was only using the NI synths until now...

Best Answer

• LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,198 Expert
    edited May 2023 Answer ✓

Maschine is a program on its own, not a Komplete plugin.

Patterns (and projects, they are 2 different things….projects are composed by patterns) are a Maschine software exclusive, since they are built/recorded by the Maschine software.

Kits (to be played) are for Maschine and Battery

Loops and samples can be used in any DAW (and in Komplete Kontrol)