Session Horns Pro - articulation question

Options
plugger
plugger Member Posts: 2 Newcomer
edited January 16 in Kontakt

I am an amateur keyboardist trying to add a simple sax track to a "motown instrumental" song I've put together.

I have selected Solo Tenor Sax, with articulation Marcato Long.

Can I configure the Marcato Long articulation to sustain for as long as I hold down the key? (I don't understand the value of having it abruptly cut out, and not respecting the MIDI sustain signal.)

I chose Marcato Long because it sounds pretty good while, given my ignorance of SHP, all the other articulations sound micky mouse. (My wife described the vibrato articulation as "kazoo"). The only problem with Marcato Long is that it quits the note after about a second.

I have to admit I am frustrated. I have had good success in the past with the basic sax patch built into my Roland keyboard... it sounds like a sax. Despite all the bells and whistles in SHP, I can't get a simple bluesy sax sound. I am sure the problem is my ignorance.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Plugger

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Brad Yost
    Brad Yost Member Posts: 350 Pro
    edited January 16 Answer ✓
    Options

Marcato (similar to pizzicato, staccato, rips, shakes, sforzando, et al) is an articulation with a finite sample duration (dependent on tempo) and no sustain looping scripted into the ADSR. That is why they are available as short (2 beat) and long (4 beat). Only the Sustain(s) have looping points that react to held notes or CC64.

You could try what I do and layer the Marcato with an underlying Sustain on another instrument instance/track.

As good as they sound for some genres, SHP is not the pinnacle of sampled horns, but is quite usable in most situations.

Answers

• Brad Yost
    edited January 16 Answer ✓
    Options