Best Drum programming method fromVST- HOW TO?

Options
shannonsmith
shannonsmith Member Posts: 29 Member

Hi folks,

So I'm new to all this. I need to record 2 kinds of drum tracks (1) digital drums that actually sound like precise electronic & dance tracks and (2) VST drums that sound like real human playing.

I'm using Native Instrument VSTs like Battery, Mashine, but I have the complete 14 collectors edition- lots of stuff. I do NOT have a drum box- I have a Keyboard (Komplete kontrol).

My first attempts are at making drum patterns that sound like perfect electronic dance drums.

I started by recording on a track - recording a couple beats playing by hand on my keyboard. Then adding a few more tracks of additional drums. Sounded like ****** because I just jumped in without researching more.

Then the tutorials are confusing and most of them don't really go into the basic of basics- a lot seem to assume you know a little or gloss over points quickly.

There seems to be different ways to do it but what is the best way? I just want to learn the best way the first time. (I"m NOT expecting you good folks to watch these vids- just for illustration).

1. This vid says to create seperate tracks one by one and then play them live- each element. That seems very NON-intuitive to me- how do you even know what they hell you want? youtu. be/z4MSd7cYb2o?si=3F_Pzw624g3Q4Qxi

2. This one is not helpful because, well, he's recording several beats live on one track- and then the VST itself let's you seperate the tracks. youtube. com/watch?v=cZ4BHHpi8rY