Komplete Kontrol | How to Fix: Cannot Hear Output of MIDI After Editing Piano Roll in FL Studio

Options
bigfishh
bigfishh Member Posts: 2 Newcomer

Hi, I'm very new to DAWs, and virtual instruments so please bear with me. I'll try my best to explain the issue I'm having.

Scenario: I create a new pattern in FL and a new channel in the channel rack. For my new channel, I select the Komplete Kontrol plugin and the Impact Soundworks free version of Shreddage.

Expected Behavior: I right-click and open the piano roll for that instrument, enter some notes, hit the playback for the pattern, and can hear everything fine. I can stop the playback, edit the piano roll by entering new notes, and play back again. I should hear sound

Problem: If I stop playback and make any other changes to the piano roll, say for example adding new notes, there is no sound once I hit play again. In fact, once you first edit the piano roll, you should hear each key you select, but if I'm editing it after playing it back the first time, I don't hear any of the new notes as they're being added, and of course, playback of the entire pattern is muted.

What I have tried:

• Checking to see that the channel is not muted
  • Checking to see that the mixer track volume is not turned to 0
  • Making sure the notes I'm playing are in the playable range for the instrument
  • Editing FL settings for the plugin so that the MIDI input port matches the one in the global FL settings. (I don't know what I'm doing when it comes to MIDI ports and routing to Kontakt, so after this didn't work, I just reset everything back to normal)

Extra Information:

• I am using an Akai MPK Mini.
  • Although no sound comes out, the keys in the piano roll still light up.