Crackling using Mod Wheel with Komplete Kontrol in DAW

ham2065
ham2065 Member Posts: 13 Member
edited July 2023 in Komplete Kontrol

Hi

I have an S61 mk2, KK 2.9.4 and Windows 10 setup. I am having problems with crackling and audio pops when using the mod wheel on S61 and KK only in my Daw. Here is the testing so far.

If I use s61 and run Komplete Kontrol standalone and load a library such as Essential Strings - Violins 1 for example and use the Mod Wheel for expression everything works as expected.

If I use s61 and run Komplete Kontrol in DAW (Pro Tools 2023.6) with Essential Strings - Violins 1 loaded and use the Mod Wheel then I get occasional crackling and audio issue with the Mod Wheel movements.

If I use s61 and run Kontakt in DAW (Pro Tools 2023.6) with Essential Strings - Violins 1 loaded and use the Mod Wheel for expression everything works as expected.

If I use s61 and run Maschine 2 in DAW (Pro Tools 2023.6) with Essential Strings - Violins 1 loaded and use the Mod Wheel for expression everything works as expected.


I get crackling with other libraries and patches using the mod wheel only with KK in Pro Tools. If I load the same instruments in either Kontakt or Maschine in Pro Tools there are no mod wheel issues.

I have tried reinstalling KK, checked midi settings, disabled Komplete Kontrol DAW integration, looking at midi driver, monitored midi event list generated while the crackling is occurring. But as yet have not found a solution.

I have opened a case with NI and uploaded Support Tool info but NI are yet to get back.

Can anyone help out here with this issue.

Best Answer

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,801 mod
    Answer ✓

    @Leyton As mentioned in another thread. @ham2065 issue is a different one and was fixed by the following:

    " I uninstalled KK and deleted the db and removed other left over KK directories and files. After reinstall the issue was resolved. "

Answers

  • ham2065
    ham2065 Member Posts: 13 Member

    I have done some more testing. I think there are issues with Komplete Kontrol AAX plugin.

    If I load Blue Cat Patchwork then Komplete Kontrol VST then Essential Strings - Violins 1 there is no crackling using the mod wheel.

    This workflow is not ideal - VI inside a wrapper inside another wrapper. Lightguide and patch parameters work OK on the S61 but if you open another track and then come back to this one the S61 losses control of the VI. If I disable and reenable the track then the connection with the s61 is restored.

    NI - do you have any comments on this. I lodged a case about 6 days ago but have not heard anything back. Is this a known issue with AAX?

  • JesterMgee
    JesterMgee Member Posts: 2,437 Expert
    edited July 2023

    Likely it is AAX related since have never noted in another application using VST but it would help to post if you use an audio interface, what the model is and the buffer / samplerate.

    Can take NI weeks (even months) to get back to support tickets in this day so wouldn't hold your breath if you have important work to do either.

  • ham2065
    ham2065 Member Posts: 13 Member

    Yes it appears to be a problem with KK AAX. Maybe code needs to be optimised or there's a bug in either KK or Pro Tools.

    I am on a UAD Apollo 8 (Black Face) with thunderbolt and 64 buffer size @ 44.1k. I know this is pushing it but it's weird that the same libraries work OK in Pro Tools running in Kontakt but not as well in KK. KK standalone performs better.

    The only thing I could think of that the data for NKS communication adds to the load when comparing Kontakt and KK performance in Pro Tools.

  • Kaiwan_NI
    Kaiwan_NI Administrator Posts: 2,523 admin
    edited July 2023

    Hi @ham2065 I escalated your ticket and our support team will get back to you shortly.

  • Leyton
    Leyton Member Posts: 5 Newcomer

    I’m having a similar problem but inside Kontakt where automating the modwheel to dynamics cause massive crackling….


    if you get an update or a fix PLEASE share

  • Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 8,801 mod
    Answer ✓

    @Leyton As mentioned in another thread. @ham2065 issue is a different one and was fixed by the following:

    " I uninstalled KK and deleted the db and removed other left over KK directories and files. After reinstall the issue was resolved. "

Back To Top