Help the elderly

Lodger
Lodger Member Posts: 13 Member
edited February 2022 in Social Club

I’m a 62 year old musician who uses computers to make music. I was a sound/lighting tech for over 25 years when mental health problems forced retirement.

At that stage the only computers on the premises were in the box office, and early single use hard/software in the lighting desk.

I’ve also played drums in several bands since the late 1970’s from Indie to Prog to Grunge and in 2018 taught myself to play the guitar.

After starting with Cubase 3.5 in the 90’s on the first computer I’d ever touched. I’m now onto Cubase 11 on an i7 with 32gb ram SSD’s etc, and Komplete Ultimate.

I still don’t know the half of what the technology can do and although my age and medication for the mental health issues obviously is a factor in grasping the advanced technical aspects.

When I do find a tutorial for something I’m trying to use. For example. I just bought a Maschine MK2. The tutorial assumes a certain level of knowledge I don’t have.

Some of the problems arise from the terminology being aimed at (no doubt the larger share) the dance music user. Who I’m guessing is in a much younger age bracket.

Don’t get me wrong. Although my primary ‘genre’ of music isn’t dance, I’m more than happy to incorporate any and every musical style into what I do.

https://lodgerwright.bandcamp.com/album/making-notes

The idea of the Maschine for me was to cut samples up that I can play easily with pads. Playing melodies in a percussive way.. and otherwise experiment basically.

Physical drumming became difficult after a shoulder operation so anything I can use to create new rhythms is essential.

I’ll find a way of using it in the end. As I did with Cubase.

I mean I’ve only just discovered what all those expansion packs are for that have been lurking on my hard drive for five years.

I think what I’m trying say though is there’ll be no help for someone of my age.