a plea for new guitar hardware

daverlee
daverlee Member Posts: 6 Member
edited May 2023 in Guitar Rig & FX

I've been using guitar rig software since 2006, and exclusively as my live rig since 2012. I've gigged all over the chicago area, and I play at my church every week.

Today I mourn the loss of my Rig Kontrol 3 hardware due to what I can only assume is a windows update that rendered the unsupported driver now useless. The DPC latency is too high on my high-end laptop and the culprit was the RK3 driver.

It's not a total loss however. I can still use my RK3 to control guitar rig - I just can't also use it as a usb sound card. I have to use another one that still gets software updates.

which brings me to my plea. NI, please reconsider supporting guitarists who want to use guitar rig live. We may be a minority, but there is no one else to my knowledge who has ever made a combined foot controller + sound card. please, please, please.

-dave

Comments

• Wouter De Muynck
    Wouter De Muynck Member Posts: 217 Pro

@daverlee That would be the fourth attempt by NI to release a HW controller for Guitar Rig, IMO chances are close to zero this will happen. I started using an Airstep MIDI-controller and this works nicely with GR6, although bidirectional MIDI would be a nice addition. GR6 should remain a live performance tool, I totally agree, and that concern is expressed multiple times on the forum (live view, looper, …)

• Gandi
    Gandi Member Posts: 55 Helper

Airstep is a midi controller, not a sound card. Right?

I also don't understand why NI discontinued the rig controller. You just have to read here in the forum what problems users have to understand the interaction between soundcard and GR. This is certainly not a problem that lies causally with GR. But we want solutions that are easy to use. The rig controller was.  

• Wouter De Muynck
    Wouter De Muynck Member Posts: 217 Pro