Logic now available for iPad - thoughts?

D-One
D-One Moderator Posts: 2,811 mod
edited May 2023 in Social Club

Looks pretty interesting, I'm no expert on mobile stuff but I don't think I ever saw an iPadOS DAW this advanced: https://www.apple.com/logic-pro-for-ipad/

Projects seem interchangeable with the desktop version... It looks like a full-fledged DAW... Got me wanting to buy an iPad now even tho I don't personally like Logic.

With the amount of power an M1 iPad has I wonder if other DAW companies will follow and make iPad versions, what do you guys think?

Comments

• spock
    spock Member Posts: 25 Helper

It would be so awesome if NI moved to iPad. With Maschine directly on iPad we would have a real standalone workstation with decent performance. Maybe one day, but I don't have much hope for innovations at NI anymore. Generator's time is over, they remain on their achievements (selling kontakt banks and samples) and seems to be stuck in their technical debt

• D-One

Humm.. Yeah, I have no hope for NI neither in the context of this thread, their tech dept seems like a snowball getting bigger and bigger every year, and having 10000 products doesn't help either. Maschine can't even get high res support on computers so can't imagine them adding something else to their catalog and being able to maintain it, iOS/iPadOS is not very forgiving to devs who abandon their software and don't keep up with changes.

I do wonder if this move from Apple will encourage other companies with less tech dept and a much smaller product line like Ableton to make a move towards iPadOS.

• Kymeia
    Kymeia Member Posts: 3,612 Expert

Great I have a M1 iPad Pro so it should run like a dream

• Mutis
    Mutis Member Posts: 472 Pro

Game over.

• Kubrak
    Kubrak Member Posts: 2,772 Expert