Volume/Expression Pedal

Arnon Eshel
Arnon Eshel Member Posts: 6 Newcomer

Hi,

I am wondering if someone can help.

I am new to NI. I have a NI A61 midi controller and the 14 Collector's edition.

I am a guitar player who also plays some keys, but new to the keyboard world. My logic is to play piano (acoustic and electric) on My Yamaha P95 weighted keyboard, using the sustain pedal and to use a volume/expression pedal (such as Roland EV-5) on my A61 for all the other sounds (synths, organs, etc.).

I know I can use the eight knobs on the A61 to control some parameters and would like to use the foot pedal as a volume one, ideally across the board for all sounds on the A61.

Is there any way to program this like that? Or if not, to program this per sound?

Thanks in advance.

Best Answer

Answers

• LostInFoundation
    LostInFoundation Member Posts: 4,194 Expert

In theory it should work like that. The pedal plugged into the keyboard will accomplish the same action for the instrument that is played in that moment.

Note that A series only have one pedal input (but it should be possible to assign it to expression instead of sustain)

Have a look at this article, it should clarify things for you 😉:

https://support.native-instruments.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005166305-How-to-Configure-Sustain-Expression-Pedals-on-KOMPLETE-KONTROL-Keyboards

• Arnon Eshel

Thank you for trying to help. I read the link and also read the instructions in the A61 manual. I set up as per the attached Word file.

Unfortunately, no change in volume when I used the pedal.

I appreciate any help.

• Arnon Eshel

I did not change anything on the actual A61 keyboard. Should I?

• LostInFoundation

Did you map then through midi learn (right mouse click on the parameter you want, in this case volume) the message coming from the pedal to volume?

• Arnon Eshel

I tried but it does not work...

Even if it worked, do I have to do this process with each instrument?