How to get a pattern of Maschine 2 MIDI tracks into Logic Pro?

ssickels
ssickels Member Posts: 7 Member
edited March 2023 in Maschine

Newbie here, trying to figure out how to get tracks I've created in the Maschine 2 plug-in into Logic Pro.

I'm able to record what I'm doing in Maschine 2 into Logic Pro (by pressing the record buttons in both), but what I want to be able to do (and can't figure out) is to drag a multi-instrument MIDI pattern I've created in the Maschine 2 plugin into Logic Pro, preserving all the instruments I've set up in Maschine 2. I've tried several potential approaches, all of which have problems:

(Caveat, I've ordered a Maschine Mikro, but don't have it yet. So for now I'm playing with only an individual instrument at a time within the Maschine 2 plugin, via my keyboard.)

There are two settings (that I can find) that seem to determine what happens when I drag the MIDI icon from Maschine 2 into Logic Pro:

Setting A) Right-click on the Group and under "Group MIDI Batch Setup," select either "Sounds to MIDI Notes" (as in the screenshot below) or "Sounds to MIDI Channels" (which is the default).

Setting B) In the lower right panel, select either the Channel view (as in the screenshot below) or the Piano Roll view.

Approach 1:

• Setting A: Either setting ("Sounds to MIDI Notes" or "Sounds to MIDI Channels")
  • Setting B: Piano Roll view

Problem: Only the specific instrument I've selected in Maschine 2 copies over into Logic Pro. Here's what it looks like in Logic Pro:

If I then want to drag each additional instrument (in my example, just a synth drum) into Logic Pro, the instrument information doesn't carry over with the MIDI. Here's Maschine 2, with the synth drum highlighted (in Piano Roll view):