CPU/RAM OPTIMIZATION TIPS

JJPP
JJPP Member Posts: 19 Member

Hi,

I'm Kind of new to Maschine, and recently been having issue with a series of lags, crackling, and CPU overload. this occurs especially whenever I'm recording Live sessions, using external instruments with Multiple VST's or playing compositions written in MIDI.

I cant figure out what's causing this and would really appreciate any help.

here are my current specs

Best Regards,

Comments

• Kubrak
    Kubrak Member Posts: 2,772 Expert

PharLight is demanding (all Light series plugins). And your CPU was strong.... Eight years ago. My current CPU which is bottom end of "performance" CPUs (AMD 5700G) is about 40-50% stronger than yours....

Concerning PharLight. Someone found out that internal effects used by plugin are very CPU hungry. And solution is to remove reverb and use external one. Sound is not as good, but it will do. Serch the forum for info, what to do.

Maybe there might be other optimizations.

Also, you do not write where the Kontakt libraries are placed and what kind of disc it is.

• JJPP

Thanks for the reply.

I’ve basically came to that same conclusion that Pharlight is a bit much for the CPU, however I’ve been able to make it work with the rest of my VSTs, (ie for KONTAKT instruments with Purge button).

I guess what I’m asking is, are there any alternatives to this issue? other than getting a completely new system or are you suggesting that with my current specs. that it won’t be able to handle Maschine2+VSTs?

things I’ve looked into are

-Buffer speed

-Audio interface

-RAM

-PLUGINS & EFFECTS

-PROCESSING

I’m not sure if I’ve missed something, but if there are other ways to optimized the processing that’s a bit more cost effective, then I’d be willing to give it a shot.

best regards,

• Kubrak

You may make audio buffer bigger. It introduces more latency.

And concerning Light series to modify patches as I have suggested. It should help a lot.