Can I use a KKS 49 with an iPad?

Newold
Newold Member Posts: 3 Newcomer
edited April 2023 in Komplete Kontrol

Can anyone tell me (I’m a complete newbie) if I can use KK S49 with an iPad and earphones? I want to use S49 as a travel/practice keyboard, I don’t need an extensive library of sounds/effects/functions. Just +/- decent piano sound (with earphones) would be fine. Or do I need a laptop or some hardware piece from NI?

Thank you very much in advance!

Tagged:

Comments

• Monochrome
    Monochrome Member Posts: 1,116 Expert

You would indeed need a laptop as a companion. As it's a MIDI keyboard, you will need software that turns key press signals into sound - like Kontakt (Player or Full) - and a virtual instrument of your choice (e.g. NI's own pianos).

Also, there is no way to plug in an iPad and/or earphones.

• Newold

Thank you so much, - so just to make sure I understand - there is no way to plug earphones into S49? Also, I was hoping to connect my iPad with S49 through S49’s MIDI out, is that possible?

What I wasn’t sure if NI software/libraries are compatible with iPads, so you are saying it is

not compatible ? Another potential problem is connecting S49 to power. Is there only one way (via USB) to do that?

Thank you very very much in advance!

• Seqsual
    Seqsual Member Posts: 41 Helper

If you have USB-C connector on your iPad, you can connect keyboard to iPad by USB cable. Keyboard will show up on iPad as Midi controller and you can use it to play for example instruments in Apple's Garage Band. For headphones - I think the easiest way is to get some that can work wireless through bluetooth.

• JesterMgee
    JesterMgee Member Posts: 2,534 Expert

If you just need a keyboard for an ipad i'd be suggesting looking around at something else, none of the software will install and the keyboard can be USB powered or PSU (15v powered) but would be an expensive option for that task.