Guitar Rig 6 only works when a few components are loaded

Denjack
Denjack Member Posts: 6 Member
edited February 2022 in Guitar Rig & FX

Hi, I am new to using amp simulation software. I play guitar and find this approach to playing thru amp simulation software very interesting. So I hope to learn a lot by using this approach and have fun doing it.

My issue is- when I select a preset that has many components, the power light on the screen flickers and the sound is intermittent when I play the guitar. When only a few components are used then it works fine (amp, cab, maybe 2 effects). I am wondering if my computer is the issue?

My computer: Toshiba satellite S55-c, windows 10 64 bit, Intel Core i7-5500U cpu 2.4 GHz, Intel HD Graphics 5500 driver, RAM 12 GB, Hard Drive 1000GB (812 GB free).

I read about the Graphics Drivers needs to support GL2.1 or higher or Direct X 9 or 11. I know intel has discontinued the driver. So, I am not sure if this is the issue?

Thanks for any help

Tagged:

Best Answers

• Gandi
    Gandi Member Posts: 55 Helper
    Answer ✓

It is, as you already suspect, on your laptop or the sound card. You are welcome to give an example of a preset that works and one that causes the problems.

I don't think the current hard drive is a problem, especially since you don't make any recordings.

There are many ways to get more music processing power out of a laptop. If you use it, it is optimized, but can only be used to a limited extent for other things.

So before I intervene heavily in the system, I would first carefully increase the number of buffers on the sound card.

• Nico_NI
    Nico_NI Administrator Posts: 1,124 admin
    Answer ✓

It would be interesting to run it within a DAW and check the CPU load. Your computer's soundcard might be the struggling point here.

• WA Florek
    WA Florek Member Posts: 5 Member
    Answer ✓

Honestly, when it comes to virtual/digital anything audio, Bigger/Faster is always better.