Noob: I need a sampler that loops 24 times per beat

amaury
amaury Member Posts: 16 Member
edited February 2023 in Reaktor

Hello,

I'm very new to Reaktor and not that talented :)

I'm after building the simplest device to drive my ERM Multiclock. Reaktor seems appropriate as I want to sync it via Link, and output sound on my ASIO soundcard.

But, I'm totally new to Reaktor. I found the Looping Sampler, the basic one, and can have my sample playing in a loop. Now, I need 24 triggers per beat. I'm not sure how to go about that.

Any help appreciated. Thank you!

Comments

• amaury

Ah, stupid me, 8T is 24 divisions per beat. Now I need to find how to have that simple loop sample react to BPM changes and how to enable Link. I'll come back if I don't find out. Any pointers welcome.

• Paule
    Paule Member Posts: 1,328 Expert

Double click the the BPM on top and type in your desired new bpm.

• amaury

I found this out, but what I'm asking is different. I made the simplest Ensemble possible, it only has the build-in Beat Looper found in the Library of Reaktor.

This play audio fine, loops the sample fine, but doesn't react to Reaktor's transport tempo. It seems to play at its own tempo.

I'm not sure sure where to go from there (never learned to use Reaktor so far)

• colB
    colB Member Posts: 761 Guru
    edited February 2023

A standard sample player playing a complete loop will always play at the original tempo unless you change the pitch. Pitch it up and the speed goes up, pitch it down and the speed goes down... just like with tape recorders, or vinyl.

There are various more fancy approaches that can alter the tempo without altering the pitch and vice versa, but they are much more hi tech, and each approach has it's compromises... Probably something better handled in a good DAW than in Reaktor.

For beat's it might be better sometimes to chop the loop into individual hits and sequence them explicitly, then the sound doesn't change as you change the speed...