Is there a way to take a duplicated output and adjust the phase and pitch of it?

notkingoli2
notkingoli2 Member Posts: 3 Member
edited February 2023 in Building With Reaktor

I'm trying to create a unison pannel for an FM synth Im making, and I was create a manner that both saves CPU and also creates more stable FM by not just duplicating oscillators but rather duplicating the output and adjusting the values from there. Is there any way to do this? I'm still new to core and have been looking in there but I havent found any useful way to do it.

Thanks

Comments

• colB
    colB Member Posts: 761 Guru

Chorus and phaser FX are implementations of what you are describing. There are implementations of both in the factory library

• notkingoli2

They're definitely similar effects, but chorus implements delay not starting phase change, and also I am asking because I kinda just wanna learn how to make my own to tune it a certain way. If i can make a way where i have control over specific voices n stuff i think i can make something really cool. So if you know how to design the DSP let me know!

Cheers

• colB

Chorus uses a delay line to implement a pitch shift that gives the effect of two or more voices... the implementation causes audible artefacts that give it it's characteristic recognisable 'sound'.

The reason these FX are a thing is because what you are asking isn't possible without some sort of audible artefacts. You could implement a traditional chorus or flanger or phaser. Or you could try a more modern pitch shifter type of approach maybe using FFT or some granular, but whatever you do it will have some recognisable characteristic of that approach.

You really can't make an 'effect' that sounds exactly as though you are using twice as many oscillators to implement unison.