How to do Probability/Conditional Trigs on Maschine + ?

L Dee
L Dee Member Posts: 6 Member

Hello hello!

I've been an admirer of NI products for a very very long time. I recently decided it was finally time to jump into the NI ecosystem by buying a Maschine +! I really really enjoy the feel and sound of this instrument. The sound design stuff you can do with it is just absolutely wild.

I have a lot of experience using devices from Akai and Elektron, and one thing I've been struggling to figure out is how to set a probability/conditional trig the same way you'd do on an Octatrack or Digitakt. I've watched some videos on the 'variation' function, but this doesn't seem to be quite the same thing. For instance, under 'Variation' if you use the 'random' function and set it to say 40%, it seems to just change value of notes that already recorded. On a Digitakt I can play out a 1 bar sequence live and then add extra steps but I can set probability values for each of those extra steps so that they only hit on a certain percentage i.e 50 percent of the time (or even a ratio). Is it possible to do this on the Maschine?

I'm guessing the best work around is to create multiple patterns with different variations to achieve a similar effect?

Tagged:

Best Answer

• D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,811 mod
    Answer ✓

You don't, Maschine doesn't have any Probability/Conditional Trigs like Elektron devices do.

That workaround could work depending on your requirements or doubling the pattern size so you have a longer sequence of 'randomness' but it will never be exactly the same as the Elektron stuff. There are other ways like using an unsynced LFO on the Sampler to add some randomness for example but you have limited destination parameters available.

Answers

• D-One
    Answer ✓

You don't, Maschine doesn't have any Probability/Conditional Trigs like Elektron devices do.